Makrooh times for Salaah

Q: Please state when the makrooh time commences for the following Salaah:

1. Fajr.

2. Zuhr.

3. Maghrib.

4. Ishraaq.

5. Chaast. 

A: The three forbidden times to perform salaah are sunrise, sunset and zawaal. Apart from this, it is makrooh for one to delay performing the Asr salaah till the time the colour of the sun changes before sunset. One should perform the ishraaq salaah 15 to 20 minutes after sunrise.

And Allah Ta'ala (الله تعالى) knows best.


Answered by:

Mufti Zakaria Makada

Checked & Approved:

Mufti Ebrahim Salejee (Isipingo Beach)