Taking gelatine for medicinal purposes

Q: I have severe knee pain and joints problem so I need to use gelatine for cure but there is no gelatine which is halaal. There is a gelatine which says kosher. Please guide whether I can consume this as a medicine or not? Then there is agar agar gelatine which comes from sea weeds but it does not help with joint repair. Please help me with this matter. Otherwise I'll have to go for cartilage repair surgery. 

A: Try your best to look for a halal substitute.

And Allah Ta'ala (الله تعالى) knows best.


Answered by:

Mufti Ebrahim Salejee (Isipingo Beach)