Consuming vitamins with gelatine

Q: Is it ja'iz to consume Vitamin D3 supplements that are made in Saudi Arabia and contain gelatin? (I couldn't find the source of gelatin.)

A: If the gelatine is made from animals that were not slaughtered according to the Shar'ee method of slaughter, then one should refrain from consuming it. One should look for a halaal alternative.

And Allah Ta'ala (الله تعالى) knows best.


Answered by:

Mufti Zakaria Makada

Checked & Approved:

Mufti Ebrahim Salejee (Isipingo Beach)