Three types of sabar

Q: Please explain the three types of sabr.

A: Sabar refers to حبس النفس على ما تكره - to resist wrong or inappropriate temptations, feelings and desires. There are three types of sabar.

1) Sabr ala taa’aat. To resist one’s desire and fulfill the commands of Allah Ta’ala.

2) Sabar nil ma’aasi. To resist one's desire to commit sins.

3) Sabar alal museeba. To resist one's feelings and be pleased with the decree of Allah Ta’ala at the time of difficulties and hardships.

And Allah Ta'ala (الله تعالى) knows best.


Answered by:

Mufti Zakaria Makada

Checked & Approved:

Mufti Ebrahim Salejee (Isipingo Beach)