Prohibition of eating products that are offered to gods and idols

Q: I want to ask regarding prasad which Hindus etc. offer such as sweets, fruits etc. In the Quran I didn't know of any verse regarding prohibiting this. What I found is prohibition of eating their meat which is not halal. Can u tell me any evidence from Quran and Sunnah regarding prohibition of vegetarian products like sweets etc except meat or complete prohibition on all types?

A: Those products and articles that are offered to their gods and idols are also prohibited. Look at Surah An`aam.

And Allah Ta'ala (الله تعالى) knows best.


Answered by:

Mufti Ebrahim Salejee (Isipingo Beach)