Using plant base extracts extracted using a certain percentage of alcohol

Q: I want to know if plant base extracts for medicinal purposes that has been extracted using a certain percentage of alcohol... Is it halaal or haraam? These medicines are commonly known as spagyric medicines.

A: If it is for external use then it is permissible, and if it is for internal use then first search for a suitable non-alcoholic substitute. In the event that a suitable alternative cannot be found then it will be permissible.

And Allah Ta'ala (الله تعالى) knows best.


Answered by:

Mufti Ebrahim Salejee (Isipingo Beach)