Drinking non-alcoholic drinks

Q: Is it permissible to drink non-alcoholic drinks (0% alcohol) which have the same name as traditional alcohols and are branded similar to the original alcoholic drink. The reason I ask is because there are many of these drinks now. E.g. There is a drink called "Lager" which has the name, logo and appearance of the original alcoholic drink but is non-alcoholic.

A: The shariah has also commanded us to refrain from areas of suspicion and from imitating things that are haraam and impermissible.

And Allah Ta'ala (الله تعالى) knows best.


Answered by:

Mufti Ebrahim Salejee (Isipingo Beach)