Eating bread that was treated with ethyl alcohol

Q: I live in Italy and all the sandwich bread I checked in the supermarket is “treated with ethyl alcohol”. Is this bread haraam or halaal?

A: Look for something that is free from alcohol. If you cannot prepare your own bread then as a last resort you may consume this bread since the commercially used alcohol is normally synthetic and not derived from grapes or dates. As such, if they do not have any intoxicating effects it will be permissible.

And Allah Ta'ala (الله تعالى) knows best.


Answered by:

Mufti Ebrahim Salejee (Isipingo Beach)